Our Patron and the Boards

Our Patron and the Boards

The LRE Foundation is composed of a Supervisory Board and a Historical Advisory board. A patron of the Foundation has been appointed in 2012: Mr. Martin Schulz, former President of the European Parliament.

The Patron of the Liberation Route Europe

Since 2012, the patron of the LRE Foundation and the Liberation Route Europe is Mr. Martin Schulz, former President of the European Parliament.

 The Liberation Route Europe provides a unique opportunity to learn about the Second World War and the unprecedented terror and destruction it caused. It is a beautiful project and a great honour to be the patron of it.

International Supervisory Board

The International Supervisory Board is in charge of controlling the management of the LRE Foundation, its activities and finances.


Ed Kronenburg

Chairman of the Board, former diplomat

Rod Bedford

Board member, Trustee of the Royal British Legion

Herre Dijkema

Board member, Managing Director Tourism Veluwe Arnhem Nijmegen

Heleen Huisjes

Board member, Director of Visit Brabant

Marc Kocken

Board member, Head of Sector Heritage and Public Engagement at Zeeland Heritage

Dietmar Nietan

Board member, Member of the German Bundestag

Taja Vovk van Gaal

Board member, former Creative Director at the House of European History

Historical Advisory Committee

The Historical Advisory Committee advises the management team of the Foundation on the global development of organization and initiatives, its strategy and vision. They represent most the countries involved in its projects such as the Liberation Route Europe.

Its role is to define the historical scope of the projects and supervize the content and research development.

This committee is seconded by the LRE Expertise Network which gathers specialists from all relevant fields to the LRE (history, tourism, education, business development etc.). This operational network is assisting and advising the team when necessary.

Prof. dr. hab. Paweł Machcewicz

Institute of Political Studies of the Polish Academy of Sciences

Prof. dr. Sönke Neitzel

University of Potsdam

Prof. dr. Phillips Payson O’Brien

University of Saint Andrews

Prof. dr. Richard Overy

University of Exeter

Prof. Em. Luc de Vos

Catholic University of Leuven

Prof. dr. Frank van Vree

Director of the National Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies (NIOD)

Prof dr. Olivier Wieviorka

Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan

Prof. dr. Massimo de Leonardis

Milan Catholic University of the Sacred Heart


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. We only use 2 cookies 1 to display the right font type and 1 for statistical information to see how the website is being used.